Skip to main content
  • My account My account My account
  • Save energy & money Save energy & money Save energy & money
  • Outages Outages Outages
  • Safety Safety Safety
  • About us About us About us
  • Contact us
  • My AES
    Choose your location
    Choose location

    AES Global

    AES Local

    Andes Argentina Brasil Bulgaria Chile Colombia Dominicana El Salvador Hawai‘i Indiana México Miami Valley Lighting Ohio Panama Puerto Rico Vietnam
    Search AES

    DPL Inc. announces the retirement of the J.M. Stuart and Killen Station power plants

    DPL Inc. announces the retirement of the J.M. Stuart and Killen Station power plants

    DAYTON, OH - May 31, 2018 - Today, DPL Inc. ("DPL"), an AES company (NYSE: AES), announced that the J.M. Stuart and Killen Stations have been retired as planned, in response to declining market conditions. J.M. Stuart Station is a 1,755 megawatt facility co-owned by DPL's subsidiary, AES Ohio Generation, LLC (AES Ohio Gen), Vistra Energy and American Electric Power (AEP) with coal-fired and diesel-fired generating units. Killen Station is a 618 megawatt facility co-owned by AES Ohio Gen and Vistra Energy with a coal-fired generating unit and combustion turbine. Both power plants are located in Adams County, Ohio.

    "Collectively for more than 40 years, the J.M. Stuart and Killen Stations have provided safe, reliable power and have been an integral part of Adams County's economy and a partner in the community," said Craig Jackson, President and Chief Executive Officer of DPL Inc. "We are incredibly proud of the men and women at the plants and thank them for their dedicated service."

    DPL recognizes the extent of the impact the decision to retire J. M. Stuart and Killen Stations has on our people and the communities in which they live. We are proactively managing workforce transitions, including opportunities to be redeployed within AES' portfolio, as well as financial support for workforce development and job retraining efforts in Adams County. 

    Back to top

    Copyright © 2009-2023 The AES Corporation. All rights reserved. Terms of Use | Privacy

    Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without the express written permission of The AES Corporation is prohibited. AES and the AES logo are trademarks of The AES Corporation. 

    My Account
  • Pay / View Bill (sign in)
  • Payment & Billing Options
  • Moving
  • Understand Your Bill
  • About Us
  • Corporate Information
  • Careers
  • Newsroom
  • Resources
  • For Community Partners
  • For Builders
  • For Suppliers
  • Jump back to top